The Principle of the White Belt

The Art of Learning by Leizandra Pugong

One of my favorite principles of excellence is “To live the teachings of the white belt”. Outside Taekwondo, this principle is applicable. Similar words are “Continuous Learning”. At some point, after we reach a certain level in our training, we go through a plateau. We tend to compromise the rigid practices and just do things for compliance. The enthusiasm of a white belt student is that he still has a lot to learn and that mindset keeps him going.

We live in a fast-paced culture where waiting is a synonym to torture. A simple buffer in the internet, a few minutes of traffic, a delay in the communication, and anything that causes us to stop and wait is already tagged as “failure”. It taught me the hard way until I finally learned the importance of time, process, perseverance, and excellence. And it is fascinating to understand that they do not contradict each other. In fact they support each other. Excellence is perfected in time. Every skill goes through a process of discipline and hard work. Experts, masters… they all had their own taste of perseverance.

When things come too easy, beware!

One of my spinning coaches, Cory Parks, always reminds us that when it feels comfortable then it means we are not working out. I couldn’t disagree more.

******************************************************

In Martial Arts, the white belt is the color for a beginner. Someone who has a lot to learn and is basically an “amateur”.

The white belt reminds us to always master our craft.

I myself have not kept this principle. After accomplishing a task, I feel the urge to slack off. Speaking of productivity and initiative, the rules of the white belt is simple…keep learning, keep improving. The Japanese have their own term for this “kaizen”.

Most of the greatest martial artists, practice every day, even when they have earned their black belts.

The questions is when does one earn his black belt?

I love shortcuts. Who doesn’t? It makes life easier, more convenient. Looking back through the years when I had to go through the long process rather than take shortcuts, it gave me an inner sense of confidence compared to the rare instances when I took things in a rather faster and easier pace. Taking shortcuts can prove its many benefits but those I achieved harder or through more effort and those that I really took time to prepare made lasting legacies both to me and to those I influence. 

Hit a Target!

When it comes to learning a skill, my favorite teachers advice the same…Have a Goal!

Learn not just for the fun of it but to truly make the most of out the experience. Whether you want to join a competition or simply be able to make that split, still, put a target! Aim at something!

Remember why you started it?

 I want to cross out a bucket list that has been forwarded each year in my new year’s resolution all because I could not get myself to enroll in an actual class. That’s my initial reason for saying yes when my friend, Girlie Abania crossed my desk to ask me to sign up for this Taekwondo class. When we started on day one, our teacher asked us to share our reasons and I immediately blamed my friend for dragging me into this. But of course I was just kidding. It is my personal choice and I’m actually glad to finally have the opportunity to make it a reality.

Why you are starting something may not be for all the good and noble reasons. Actions create purpose. Purpose drive us to action. It’s an egg and chicken story that really does not make sense which comes first but what we know is that they both came from each other.

So what’s your wakeup call?

Remember it doesn’t have to be philanthropic but it just have to be true to you!

Good luck on your white belt mission!

Leave a comment